Pulling Rank: Buckingham/Nicks Era Fleetwood Mac Studio Albums

Pulling Rank is a weekly column in which Kelly Stitzel ranks a variety of pop culture-related things with little to no commentary, but sometimes with audio or visual accompaniment. You will probably disagree with her opinions — just don’t be a dick about it.

As the title says, this week I’m ranking the six studio albums Fleetwood Mac released with both Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks as members.

1. Tango in the Night (1987)

2. Tusk (1979)

3. Rumours (1977)

4. Fleetwood Mac (1975)

5. Mirage (1982)

6. Say You Will (2003)

  • kingofgrief

    1. Tusk
    2. Mirage

    The rest of this list will be compiled at a later time, namely after I reevaluate the self-titled LP and Tango in the Night (which does boast some awesome singles). Say You Will will likely anchor my list as well for being at least a third longer than it should.

  • EightE1

    I’d go 

    1) Tusk
    2) Rumours
    3) Fleetwood Mac
    4) Mirage
    5) Tango
    6) Say You Will

    Tusk is my favorite Mac record, hands down; I love its wonderful weirdness, its freaky soul.  Tango had some cool stuff, but it just sounds cold to me.  Rumours and FM have all those great songs.  I’ve recently gone back to listen to Mirage again, and I’ve really enjoyed it. Say You Will is a mess; some bright spots here and there, but overall it just seems cluttered.

    Cool series idea, Kelly.

  • Jen.S

     This is my list as well…I have always loved Tusk…

  • Rock_dawg

    I don’t think I could actually rank those first five albums.  I love the crap out of each of them and which one is tops would change from week to week.  There are such great songs on the two 80’s albums, but they are often ignored or dismissed.  Rumours is so excellent, but overexposed that it could easily slide down anyone’s list. And I love the wonderful weirdness of Tusk for all the reasons it’s not Rumours.
    But I think everyone would agree with Say You Will at the bottom. There are some good tracks on there, but far too many weak ones and Christine McVie is really missed.

  • Old_Davy

    1. Rumours – maybe the best sequenced album ever. If they had pulled swapped “Songbird” for “Silver Springs” it would be the best album of the 70’s.
    2. Fleetwood Mac – this is such an enjoyable album and the addition of Buckingham/Nicks to the Fleetwood Mac line up was a tremendous improvement of the band.
    3. Tusk – could use a little editing, but the great songs are very great.
    4. Tango In The Night – Lots of good stuff here, Big Love is a wonderful lead off track.
    5. Mirage – I get bored with all the MOR stuff on this one.
    6. Say You Will – Neither immediate or essential. Sounds like half of a Stevie Nicks album paired with 2/3 of a Lindsey Buckingham album.

  • egebamyasi

     1. Rumours – 
    It is ridiculous that they left Silver Springs off. Personally I would replace Oh Daddy   and make Songbird the last song on the album.
    2. Fleetwood Mac – I like this one the best because it’s the first but Rumours is probably better
    3. Tusk – Could have been as good as the first two but it was sabotaged by Buckingham. No matter how you listen to it it’s not a great album. There are a few classics here but it could have been much better.
    4.If I ever listen to rest of them I’ll let you know

  • http://digitaldreamdoor.com/pages/best_songs-Power-Pop.html Brett Alan

    I understand why you wouldn’t want to add commentary, but some sense of what they’re being ranked ON would be useful. I mean, I assume they’re being ranked on how much you like them, given that by almost any objective criteria Rumours would be number one. But it might be good to be clear, you know?

  • Guy Smiley

    Tango In the Freakin’ Night… Over either of the first two B/N Mac albums. Or Tusk. 

    I’m sorry, is it still April 1?

  • http://www.popdose.com DwDunphy

    I am thoroughly enamored with this concept and heartily endorse it. And now…
    1) Rumours – The start of something big and an album you can listen to front to back. It should have had “Silver Springs” but there’s really nothing I’d have removed.

    2) Tusk – I love weird records, and Tusk is weird but not as much as the rep it has generated over the years. It also acts as pure bravery considering they could have made Rumours Too and been just as successful.

    3) Fleetwood Mac – A lot of great songs, maybe a couple songs I don’t love as much, but it was a heck of a declaration. This is a completely new band with a familiar name.

    4) Mirage – Like Fleetwood Mac, some great songs with some not so, but the ratio isn’t quite the same. And yet, any album with “Hold Me” cannot be disregarded.

    5) Tango – The ratio is even more strained and there’s an uneasy sense of obligation over the thing I can’t quite shake. Very listenable but it could never be love at first listen.

    6) Say You Will – I have to disqualify it (in my own mind) for the lack of Christine McVie. There are some Stevie-sung songs that Christine just would have done better.