On a day full of music world shockers, this one might not rise to the level of the R.E.M. breakup, but for fans, the news is monumental. That “classic line-up” of Guided By Voices, Robert Pollard, Tobin Sprout, Greg Demos, Mitch Mitchell and Kevin Fennell, will be dropping a brand new record upon our doorstep on January 1, 2012.

Titled cryptically as ever, Let’s Go Eat The Factory promises to be at least one of many, many, many, many Pollard slabs for the year, but also promises to bring Tobin Sprout out of his musical retirement. This is, as they say, a very good thing. This is the first release for this GBV line-up since 1996’s Under The Bushes Under The Stars, and Sprout’s first new recordings since 2003’s Lost Planets & Phantom Voices. How much material was written by him remains to be seen, given Pollard’s mythic, prolific rate of output.

The album currently stands twenty-one tracks tall, but as things go in GBV-land, this is subject to change:

Laundry And Lasers
The Head
Doughnut For A Snowman
Hang Mr. Kite
God Loves Us
The Unsinkable Fats Domino
Who Invented The Sun
The Big Hat And Toy Show
Imperial Racehorsing
How I Met My Mother
My Europa
Chocolate Boy
The Things That Never Need
Either Nelson
Cyclone Utilities (Remember Your Birthday)
Old Bones
Go Rolling Home
The Room Taking Shape
We Won’t Apologize For The Human Race


Enhanced by Zemanta

About the Author

Dw. Dunphy

Dw. Dunphy is a writer, artist, and musician. For Popdose he has contributed many articles that can be found in the site's archives. He also writes for New Jersey Stage, Musictap.net, Ultimate Classic Rock, and Diffuser FM. His music can be found at http://dwdunphy.bandcamp.com/.

View All Articles