OMD 2013 600

It’s hard to believe the original incarnation of Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys, Malcolm Holmes and Martin Cooper) has been back together for close to eight years. If they blew apart again after 2010’s winning History of Modern album, that would have been a triumphant end to one of the new wave era’s most enduring bands. And yet, here we go again.

OMD’s new album, English Electric, will be released on April 8th on CD, deluxe CD+DVD, heavyweight vinyl LP, collectors’ tin boxset and on digital platforms. From the sounds of the first released track — a throwaway instrumental segue called “Digital” — they are diving deeper into their early sound. This track would have been a good fit on Architecture and Morality or even their earliest live performance art EP (produced by nuh nuh nuh 19’s Paul Hardcastle).

[youtube id=”GZBNx6e3D_Q” width=”600″ height=”350″]

English Electric tracklist:

Please Remain Seated
Night CafÁ©
The Future Will Be Silent
Helen of Troy
Our System
Kissing The Machine
Stay With Me
Atomic Ranch
Final Song

The first single, “Metroland,” will be released 25th March.

In the meantime, you might have some catching up to do. History of Modern and it’s b-side packed companion EP  (that includes an ace cover of “VCR” by the xx) are available on Amazon.

About the Author

Keith Creighton

Keith is a music correspondent for Popdose and an advocate on women's empowerment, gender identity and gender liberation issues. He is a monthly new music contributor to the Planet LP Podcast and is a marketing writer by day for Sudden Monkey.

View All Articles