Paul McCartney, "Kisses on the Bottom"

Everyone assumed he was going to call his new collection of pop standard re-recordings My Valentine, but it turns out that Paul decided to get a little *cough* cheeky with the album title — it’s Kisses on the Bottom. And no, it isn’t really a butt joke. Via press release:

Paul has apparently had some fun with his choice of album title — while causing some confusion amongst those who have historically subjected his every move to microscopic scrutiny (with many fixating on an anatomical interpretation!). The phrase Kisses On The Bottom,’ however, actually comes from the album’s opener I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter.’ Originally made a big hit by Fats Waller in 1935, the song opens with the lines I’m gonna sit right down and write myself a letter and make believe it came from you. I’m gonna write words oh so sweet. They’re gonna knock me off of my feet. A lot of kisses on the bottom, I’ll be glad I got em.’

Produced by Tommy LiPuma and featuring Diana Krall, Eric Clapton, and Stevie Wonder, Kisses on the Bottom arrives in stores on February February 7. The deluxe version packs two extra tracks, three postcards, and a download code for a live performance at Capitol Studios.

Standard CD — 14 tracks
01. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter 02:36

02. Home (When Shadows Fall) 04:04

03. It’s Only A Paper Moon 02:35

04. More I Cannot Wish You 03:04

05. The Glory Of Love 03:46

06. We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me) 03:22

07. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive 02:32

08. My Valentine 03:14

09. Always 03:50

10. My Very Good Friend The Milkman 03:04

11. Bye Bye Blackbird 04:26

12. Get Yourself Another Fool 04:42

13. The Inch Worm 03:43

14. Only Our Hearts 04:21

Deluxe CD bonus tracks

15. Baby’s Request 03:30

16. My One And Only Love 03:50

Tagged in:

About the Author

Popdose Staff

Some days won't end ever, and some days pass on by. We'll be working here forever, at least until we die. Working for a living, living and working, taking what they're giving 'cause we're working for a living.

View All Articles